In House Dressage Show

Today my yard held an in-house dressage competition. It was only a little show, as we’re not a huge yard, so it was just for a bit of fun and fundraising. Hopefully we can afford to get some new jumps or dressage markers or something.

As I was working today, I couldn’t attend, so the judge was willing to accept video entries from those unable to get to the show. I think that there was at least one other person that couldn’t attend and gave in a video entry. So I videoed my test yesterday and emailed it over to Catherine who was organising the show. I entered class 5, which was a pick your own test, and I did Elementary 42.

My friend Laura also did a class on Brevan, she did a Novice level test, as well as attempting an Intro test on her old boy Jolli. Last time Laura tried to do a test on Jolli at the in-house show in December, it didn’t go so well. Jolli decided that the test was “C enter in sideways canter, at X turn left, at B jump out of the arena and bolt across the school”. At least this time she managed to actually finish a test with Jolli, thanks to Hack Up Stepfree calmer. My sharer also submitted a Novice test as she was also unable to attend. My friend Paris did an Intro test on her horse Luna (the mare I help out with), and managed not to have a meltdown.

Luna

It was a very successful day for us all. Paris excelled and came 2nd in the Intro with a well deserved 68.3% (she is over the moon). Laura got 63.3% in the Intro with Jolli and came 5th. She also came 1st in the Novice with Brevan on 68.2% (if I’m not careful I might end up losing my pony soon). I came 3rd in the Open with 65.6% for my video entry and my sharer Ella came 4th in the Open class with 64.2% for her video entry.

Leave a comment